Growing old disgracefully

By GOD

NAUGHTY CORNERS

'Corner units are noticeably the conjunction or, to be more accurate, the juxtaposition of facades and gable facade and facade, i.e. they are planner abutments maintaining the rectilinear aesthetic of the grid rather than the three dimensionally sculptural elements responsive to oblique perspective.'

I love buildings so much I sometimes wish I had studied architecture, but then I read stuff like this and realise I would never have grasped the fundamentals. The writer goes on (talking of the building above):

This is generally a well mannered example of contextual continuity. however, the introduction of the tower elements sets up a diagonal emphasis which is alien to the spatial character of the Merchant City.'

Anyway, I was in the Merchant City to meet up with jetty girl, have a good old chin wag, terrorise the waiters, morph into our mothers and plot against our offspring. She ate some very unlean bacon and hot buttered toast and I had some pale soup and naked rocket with finely sliced halloumi. I couldn't spell halloumi when I put it into the WW site, so I have no idea how many points and I don't care.

Home to some distressing news from Canada. Our son has had an accident at work causing two fractures in his ankle. He's awaiting surgery and will be off work for around 3 months. It is terribly hard to be so far away at times like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.