NCH

By NCH

Soup and no time

I do apologise for this photo, it really isn't the standard I wish to set for myself. But it has been one of those days. You know those days where you run around urgently dealing with stuff and then you look back and realise you haven't actually done any of the things you really ought to have done? Welcome to my Monday.

This is where I effectively start and end my day, in front of the iMac with a bowl of food.

I went to the hospital, had my tooth x-rayed. "oooh this is going to be a difficult extraction, you'll have to come here for it." Fine, just get it out!

I had my camera and took a great photo from the top of the car park, looking out over the hospital and the city in the early morning light. No memory card. The D700 can temporarily store a small number of shots on the camera itself but I don't know how to retrieve it.

It also occurred to me that especially when time is limited, I'm going to be taking rather constrained and potentially dull types of shots if I want to stick with the rule of me being in all shots in some way or another. In the shot from the car park, you see my hand on the railings and it was a nice view but it looked like I'd carelessly let some random into the shot and not noticed it. I could set the camera up on timer or with wireless remote but that isn't always safe or possible.

Should I revise the parameters of my project? Is purely taking one photo a day that reflects my day in some way, enough of a challenge? Do I really have to be in each photo?

So here is my day; hospital, work, being unproductive, back to the hospital, back to work, off to Kwik Fit for new tyres and back home. Essay to write and no time to cook so I reheated some delicious carrot and parnsip soup that I made yesterday and here I will be until the essay is more or less knocked out and I can go to bed.

Halogen lights make for tricky white balance, and the grey blipfoto background has turned blue. I tried the good old trick of turning a crap photo into B&W to make it look better but then I look like I have a bowl of dog poo in front of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.