Crunchity

By crunchity

Far, far from Ypres

Really enjoyed Celtic Connections Far, far from Ypres tonight - a collection of WWI songs and stories, written and directed by Ian McCalman and starring some great Scottish singers. Chief amongst them, for me anyway, was Dick Gaughan who I think is just brilliant. Handful of Earth is got to be in my top ten albums.

Went along with my father-in-law who is a real expert on WWI - so got the stories behind a lot of the songs. We had a great time and then met up with my oldest pal R, who is looking forward to the premiere of his film next Sunday (which I hope to get to if I can get back from London in time). Just managed to get on to the last train back to Edinburgh, just like everyone else on the train.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.