Sue's Eye View

By SuesEyeView

The Misadventures of Percy Pigeon

Hubby and I were walking through The Lanes in Brighton when, above the front door of a shop called Pecksniffs, we heard loud screeching and squawking noises. When we looked up we noticed a squab (a young pigeon) being evicted from the nest by its squabbling siblings. I stood under the nest just as the squab fell and thankfully caught it in both hands.

The owner of a jewellery shop witnessed this and took us inside whilst we waited for a volunteer from Rogers Wildlife Rescue to come and collect the badly pecked squab.

Apparently Percy has a 50/50 chance of survival and I am to telephone tomorrow afternoon to find out how it's doing. I will keep you all posted.

My apologies for a poor quality capture, but this just had to be my blip entry for today.

Update:17.30. I've telephoned the wildlife rescue centre. Percy apparently is about 10 weeks old and is doing well. He's been given antibiotics for his wounds and has been fed and watered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.