Back and Forth thru time

By pingufivemins

Ramble On

Evening all.

Sorry, got distracted there for a moment. I was going to start this by typing out the words

" I feel like such a cock sometimes"

then I worried that the words "such" and "a" would mysteriously disappear once I posted it, leaving me with some awkward explanations and two pages of backtracking.

so, I decided I start with the phrase:

"sometimes I feel like a right charley"

then I couldn't decide if 'd spelt charley correctly for the saying, or did it end in "ie" rather than "ey"

then I wondered if the phrase had fallen out of common usage or if the term or the words in it had mutated and evolved over time.

For instance, the word "Gay" has 18th century connotations meaning to be happy or joyful, then in the late 19th century, "gay" became common parlance to be used when referring to ladies of the night, or prostitutes if you prefer.

Then, 2oth century it became associated with homosexuality, although I've yet to quite pin down exactly when or how that changed, (I think it was in the 1920s but haven't found this out yet)

so. I search the internet for a bit, and find "bit of a charley" isn't really a phrase that pops up much on the internet search engines, then I have a much better reactionary but relevant and useful idea..

I'll dig the phrase out from one of my old books, ha ha, a book, how 20th century am I?

So that's what i'm going to do now and the devil take your new fangled, button pressing, search engine world!!!!

night all


led zeppelin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.