bevhumphrey

By bevhumphrey

Houseboats and Bacon Butties

Just an unusually still and grey day for around here...no wind at all. Had to stay away from the hills for my run as I knew from yesterday it would just be too too wet. So went along the canal from Barrowford to Foulridge and stayed on bridle and footpaths mostly. This is a stretch of canal where a lot of people actually live on their houseboats and its not at all touristy or boat trippy. I seriously thought about this about 5 years ago ( not in a good place at the time ! lol)....for about 3 hours in the pub ...til I came to my senses and remembered the winters when I have seen them all completely ice locked ! But today it was lovely to see so many of the houseboats with smoke coming out of the chimneys, stoves lit.....and the smell of bacon and sausage cooking came from almost every one. Was ravenous when I got home...had to resort to hot crumpets and marmite !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.