NCH

By NCH

The Bare Necessities

Water.

It has been a non-stop day. I drove out to the valleys to see the launch of a heritage project involving young people with learning disabilities. The South Wales valleys are stunning especially in autumn. But I had no time to stop to take a photo. I had to rush back to work and deal with my list of 1001 urgent things to do.

So I lost the blip opportunity I really wanted. Now I'm home, late from work and need to launch into essay writing. So I decided to use 'making tea' as my blip opportunity. Boy, it was a boring shot, so I cropped it right down to this and rotated it just to confuse the eye for a moment.

Self portraits exist virtue of the light that bounces off us to hit the sensor of the camera, right? So on that technicality I maintain that I am in this shot by virtue of the light that bounced off me and onto the stainless steel background and back again through the water as I poured it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.