Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

TELEPHONE MAN

Sometimes a picture reminds you of the soundtrack of your youth, been humming this all afternoon, hopefully I can now park it back in my memory banks for another 35 years!



TELEPHONE MAN
(M. Wilson)
Meri Wilson - 1977


I rented my apartment on a Monday at one
Singin' doo-lolly-lolly, shakey-bum, shakey-bum
Started movin' in it on a Tuesday at two
Singin' doo-lolly-lolly, shakey-doo, shakey-doo
Wednesday at three I called the phone company
Singin' hey baby, put a phone in for me
Thursday at four he came a-knockin' at my door
Singin' "Hey baby, I'm your telephone man
You just show me where you want it
And I'll put it where I can
I can put it in the bedroom
I can put it in the hall
I can put it in the bathroom
I can hang it on the wall
You can have it with a buzz
You can have it with a ring
And if you really want it
You can have a ding-a-ling
Because, hey baby, I'm your telephone man"

Can you believe that....and then he says....
"Now when other fellahs call you,
Tell 'em how it all began"
Well....huh-huh...

My heart began a-thumpin'
And my mind began to fly
And I knew I wasn't dealing
With no ordinary guy
So while he was a-talkin'
I was thinking up my plan
Then my fingers did the walkin'
On the telephone man
Singin' hey-lolly-lolly, hey-lolly-lolly,
Hey lolly-lolly, get it anyway you can

Right....huh..huh..huh...So...

I got it in the bedroom
And I got it in the hall
And I got it in the bathroom
And he hung it on the wall
I got it with a buzz
And I got it with a ring
And when he told me what my number was
I got a ding-a-ling
A-singin' hey-lolly-lolly, hey lolly-lolly,
Hey lolly-lolly, just a-doin' my thing

Huh....I never did anything like this before....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.