B.A.C.K. to Basics

By AmyT

Sleepover with the Grands

Another sleepover at Meme & Papa's, and another night of roasting marshmallows before bed.

I am thrilled that my parents are so involved with the kids. It's something that, unfortunately, I never had that relationship with my grandparents. It warms my heart that the kids look forward too, and enjoy their time with Mom and Dad.

Of course - these are not the same parents that I grew up with... I try to explain that to Colby and Kaylee, they don't believe me. They come home from spending a night with Mom and Dad, and all of a sudden, I am "so strict", "a meanie", "not fair", and the best ... "Why can't you be more like Meme?". I just laugh and say "Listen, these are not the same people who raised Uncle Bob and I, they have changed, they're nicer now!".

It's funny how this happens to everyone... the grandparents have the best of both worlds. They don't need to be strict, they don't play by the same rules, there are no consequences to their actions. They are allowed to love, laugh and be silly... feed marshmallows for dinner and ice cream for breakfast.

It's OK, it's all good - I know that the kids are well loved, they are having a BLAST, and I'm secure enough to be called the "meanie".... actually, I kinda like it ;)

Live it up Mom and Dad, spoil the be-geezus out of the kids - it's something they'll take with them always. They'll always remember these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.