Fishing

I got up to go fishing at 3am this morning. It was a case of stumble out of bed, groped around for my clothes, fumbled with the garage door and finally, some 20 minutes later, got my boat launched at Manly harbour.

I was still blearly as I headed out onto the pitch dark bay, guided by my GPS and the bay navigation beacons.

Then my boat hit a small wave at speed which send a big spray of water across the bow. It was like having a glass of salty water thrown in my face. Bing! I was instantly awake.

As it turned out it was just too windy to cross the bay. I opted to try a new spot I had found on my computer's GPS software. The GPS led me there and sure enough, the water went from 9 metres to 3 metres right on que. I had previously heard that there is a shallow spot off Green Island. It wasn't a disappointment. The region forms a natural reef and there were lots of fish on the sounder. I ended up catching quite a few which made my morning.

One other thing. Just before daybreak, I saw a meteorite plunging to earth. It was quite big and I even saw "sparks" falling away from it. Amazing.

All that before 6am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.