Lights Out

Floodlight failure. Just before half time. Emirates Stadium. FA Cup Fourth Round. Arsenal V Coventry City.
A really enjoyable match and entertaining evening at Arsenal - not just for the result with the reds winning 4-0.
I do have to confess to a very slight soft spot for Coventry City. I don't have a second team. I'm very partisan about my football and part of me still hankers after the days when no one liked Arsenal. I'm not even very good when it comes to supporting England - how can I cheer players who normally play for other teams? - I just find it hard. But I grew up watching Coventry at Highfield Road - my first match was to see Arsenal there - my heroes playing up the road from home. Amazing. So to take my boy to see our team, The Arsenal, play the Sky Blues meant more than it usually would. Of course, City were totally outclassed - just a few flashes of quality - but fans and players alike were great and generous in spirit.
This was the moment when the lighting failed and the stadium filled with twinkling phone lights. It was beautiful. And unforgettable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.