LeeRoo

By LeeRoo

Best laid plans

Haven't been to the Everyman cinema in Oxted before and thought if try it out today as it's only 15 minutes from here in the train. The film lived up to all my expectations - gruelling and powerful with wonderful performances. During the film I heard high winds and heavy rain but it only lasted a few minutes so didn't think much of it. I had planned to spend a quiet evening in but as it turned out I ended up spending three and a half hours at Oxted station.

The brief storm brought down several trees including on the train line just ahead of Oxted. And then another one on the other direction meaning no services up or down the line. No coaches at first as apparently none of the drivers were prepared to risk the roads. Eventually coaches were ordered but only one out of four made it to Oxted. That one served everyone heading towards Uckfield and then finally a series of taxis were laid on for everyone else. I got home shortly after 10pm - not quite what I had hoped for of a Saturday evening. Got to say though that the station staff were wonderful and stayed calm, patient and good humoured throughout which helped. More evidence of Maski's theory that I am some sort of travel jinx!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.