Gaia's Child

By maura143

Old and New

The New…refurbished Canon 7D, a very good deal from B&H. Probably more camera than I can handle, but I promise to Go Slowly! The Old…1953 Ansco Shur-Flash.

My earliest memories of my father were of him with a camera in his hands. He would have Loved Blipfoto because he Recorded Everything on Film. He had several still cameras and at least one Movie Camera, which I still have packed away somewhere. The South Florida climate sadly, was death to all of his movie film. I was able to save and transfer to VHS just a bit. Now it will be archived on DVD. I do have many of his still photos, dating back to his service in WW2. My mother passed away when I was four. I'm never quite sure if my memories of her are my own or taken from the many photos my father took of the both of us.

When I was four this Ansco Shur-Flash become mine. My Dad taught me a few basic rules of photography and how to change the film rolls…and encouraged me to Record Everything on Film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.