Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Feeling guilty...

... Didn’t go to the gym at 8am. Even though Gordon was there, with classical music on… I blame blip! Or more specifically, Vodkaman. I was catching up on his adventures, and I got engrossed, and suddenly - oh look! - it’s too late to get to the classical music in the gym. What a shame.

I promised myself that I would do some vigorous exercises at home. And really, I can do all the things I do there, almost. Well, not cycling or cross training. Pity we sold the cross trainer - I would have been using it daily now.

I have a plan to convert the bike shed in the front garden into a wood shed. This plan involves either removing every second slat of wood, or drilling big holes all over, to facilitate an air flow. It will look like it’s been machine-gunned, but hey, if it does the job… I have my Christmas tree clippings there at the moment, but have to have it open to the air. However, decided not to attack it today as it’s a bit wet.

So by 9.30am and I had talked myself out of everything. But there was No Way I was ending up on the sofa watching TV in the morning. Therein lies the path to ruin.

Trotted off to the afternoon movies. ‘Inside Llewyn Davies’. Enjoyed it, mostly. He’s a folk singer in Greenwich Village in 1961, just before Bob Dylan arrives and folk becomes popular. Great soundtrack.

As I came out of the cinema, eyes blinking in the light, an elderly man approached me. ‘Have you just been to the film? What did you think of the ending?’ And so we had a chat and agreed that he had a much nicer singing voice than Dylan.

I tried to get a few photos on the way home, but it was so dreich, and there was nothing inspiring, that it has to be an indoor shot.

This is a bag we got in Mexico. We did have ideas of retiring there at one point, as we did a fantastic house swap several years ago, and there are many ex-pats from around the world, it being cheap and warm, it seemed to be a great life. But we decided not to.

On Channel 4 News last night, they said that over 100,000 people had been killed in the drugs wars in the last seven years. It’s a fantastic country, with amazing resources and hard working people. Just its bad luck to be situated between a country whose main export is drugs (Colombia) and a country which can’t get enough of them (USA) and supplies guns.

Passed a crowd of hooligans big school girls. They were all screeching, ‘She’s a bitch!’ to one girl in tears. Then one said, ‘At least she cares about you enough to hate you!’

Oh to be young again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.