Grease is the Word

Finished Betsy's dress for Grease!

Am SO pleased with it! I sound like I'm
showing off but I'm not - I am literally astonished at how well it came out. I have never made anything as complicated as this before.

It has a panelled bodice, interfacing, a zip. I've never put a zip in clothing before, just on cushion covers and things like that. Betsy said that when I said I could make her a dress she thought, 'hmmm....' And she is my biggest fan. But when she bought her costume list home and it said, 'Prom-style dress' I was the one who thought, 'hmmm'! Betsy doesn't have ANY dress, let alone a Prom dress and personally I think I can only take one Prom dress shopping trip and that will be when she actually goes to her Prom. And was planning on taking at least eighteen months to prepare myself for that.

So I thought I'd make it. I bought a pattern for £5 and 3m of fabric at £3 a metre. And I had the fabulous pleasure of sewing it myself - sewing, one of the things I love the most.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.