JuneFox

By JuneFox

Plumbing!

The plumbers finally turned up this morning - hurray!

One of the jobs needing doing was to remove the shower tray in my ensuite bathroom and replace it with a bigger one (the old one wasn't long enough and water used to splash on the floor). As you can see in the photo, they have removed the old tray and the glass screen panel, taken up the floor tiles and the bottom row of wall tiles, and disposed of the board underneath as it had suffered water damage from water seeping through the floor grouting. They have extended the waste pipe to where the new outlet will be and put in place a new piece of boarding for the tray to sit on. All good so far!

Then the bad news ….. some of the white tiles in the shower have blown, probably due to water getting in behind the tiles through the grouting. I've been told all the white tiles within the shower area need to be removed and the wall making good where necessary. This size of tile isn't available any more (I had trouble locating enough a few years ago when I had the then bath taken out and a shower put in)! So, I have decided to have all the white tiles removed on the three walls and new modern larger white ones fitted, leaving the dark tiles as they are. So, what was a straight forward job, has turned into a bit of a nightmare.

Now, this creates another problem - a tiler! The tiler I used for my main bathroom and downstairs cloakroom is amazing, however, he's been working in Russia the past year and only comes home for a break every so often. Got in touch with him and he's coming home on 13 Feb, till the end of the month. He's agreed to do 2-3 days work for me. This means that i've got to get the plumber to remove all fixtures and fittings and remove the tiles and get the walls ready so the tiler can come in and just put up the new tiles. A trip to the tile shop is scheduled for Friday.

I shall be away in Yosemite on a LPH workshop when the tiler comes - so my son, who will be staying to look after my cats, will be left to deal with it.

I hate having things done, don't cope with the mess very well, but I have to keep telling myself that it will be worth it in the end!! Plus, i'll be able to move back into my bedroom! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.