Walking Wombat

By WalkingWombat

A visit from the Gang Gangs

We have had the most joyful 24 hours at Wombat Hollow. At dusk last night we had a visit from the very, very rare Gang Gang Cockatoos. Even though you can hear them in the trees, it's such a rarity for them to show themselves. You know there around because they they sound like a creaking door, a very different sound to the Black Cockatoo.
My biggest problem in taking the images is that I'm just so excited I can hardly hold the camera!! Tonight they have been coming in to drink from the bird baths for the past hour, not in large number but one and two at a time. I REALLY ENCOURAGE YOU TO VIEW THE LARGER IMAGE I have posted some additional images on my Blipfolio and I hope you enjoy my humble effort.
The male has a magnificent orange crest and they have the most wonderful feathers. A dark grey edged in a very pale grey. I always say they are like a prehistoric bird, they always look so old compared to some of their compatriots.
As I'm typing the text they are taunting me, I can hear them in the trees and I'm sitting in view of the bird bath with the camera at the ready. No time to eat tonight!!

I just want to add that the last time we had an opportunity to take images of the Gang Gangs was an afternoon when Gemax was visiting the property. He took some exquisite photos at the time and I have been dying for the birds to return so that I could try my hand as well. I should encourage Gemax to add them to his Blipfolio :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.