My Mum's snowdrops

My mother loved snowdrops. There were always lots and lots of huge clumps of snowdrops when we were growing up.

When I left home, I tried several times to transplant them but it always failed. Apparently they are quite notorious for being difficult to move.

Just before I returned to Staffordshire, I was doing a big tidy up of the garden and, in a corner that had grown a bit wild (!!), I found two healthy clumps of snowdrops. Some of them HAD moved with me.

Of course, I dug them up to bring with me here. And nearly five years on, they are still there, faithfully showing their lovely faces halfway through January, and both welcoming the spring, and reminding me so vividly of my Mum.

She would have loved them too.

Stay safe, blippers. The forecast for wind and more, more rain, continues.

xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.