Because I can...

I've taken a few photographs today but decided to go with this one of the Scottish Parliament...because I can. Once a staple of my blip journal often blipped whilst taking my lunch time stroll. Now that my lunch time stroll is in the west a less frequent blip subject.

A day of training today and a very enjoyable day to, meeting with friends old and new. It's a bit of my job that I do love and I am often humbled by the commitment and drive of our volunteers.

Today I was training lots of people new to campaigning, motivated to do so for the first time by the knowledge and belief that Scotland will be a fairer, more prosperous and more democratic country with a Yes vote in September. We live in exciting times and we are privileged to be part of this decision.

So it is our privilege in this generation to determine the next chapter of Scotland’s story.

And when the pages of books yet unwritten speak to generations yet unborn of this time and this place, of our Scotland today, what is the story they will tell?

They can say that we who lived at this special time recognised a priceless moment for what it was.

That those who saw this chance did not baulk at it.

That those who were given this moment did not let it pass by.

And that we, Scotland’s independence generation, reached out and grasped the opportunity of a lifetime when it came our way.

We will NOT wake up on the morning of 19 September next year and think to ourselves what might have been.

We WILL wake up on that morning filled with hope and expectation – ready to build a new nation both prosperous and just.

After almost a century of Scotland moving forward to this very moment – let us ask ourselves these simple questions: If not us - then who? If not now - then when? Friends - we ARE Scotland’s independence generation. And our time is now


Alex Salmond 19th October 2013

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.