paulcoates95

By paulcoates95

The Magic Castle Hollywood

We seem to have kicked the jet lag a bit easier this way, but England will be the real test. I work before the others and age breakfast alone reading my kindle (Lustrum by a Robert Harris - an excellent read) and every time the waitress passed me she's shake her head and say "so serious...so serious !"

This was then followed by a wonderful brunch at the amazing Magician's castle. Saw some excellent close up magic by teenagers, and some even better stage shows by the pros. We were baffled, amused and then had fun barking tunes for the ghost pains I to play. She played God Save The Queen followed by Born In The USA.

Then after telling a street seller I didn't want to buy his CD (which had a picture of him spanking a woman's arse) he told my kids it was cos I hated black people, he then called over his two friends who pointed at me and yelled Racist! Interesting sales technique. I was later told that even if I'd bought it, the odds were it was blank, so there was no winning that argument - still though, it left a bitter taste.

Which wasn't made any better doing the Hollywood tour, in which we sped around Beverly Hills gawping at untold wealth and hearing tittle tattle tales about famous people I didn't really care about. Although the driver's commentary was funny and he explored the theme of Hollywood being an idea rather than a reality, and that it's a vicarious need I'm both parties to be looked at and to be looking, so it's up to us as well as them to leave the party.

A lovely night in the Farmer's Market amidst great food stalls and fan fruit rounded off the evening - one thing we know for sure; it's not New Zealand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.