rnhunt

By rnhunt

Heads you lose

Finally admitted defeat on a data recovery attempt that has been driving me insane for the last month or two. On the positive side I now know all the good tools out there, how things work, and what not to do.

The photo shows a donor drive with its fortunately single platter and also magnet removed next to the patient. The read head is tiny and tucked away at the end of the arm under some plastic. This is its "parked" state when not in use. Floating close to the platter the flow of air and balancing of the platter is vital.

The platters ceased being balanced a long time ago before I realised this. Although the patients warped platter was doomed from the start. I should have recovered data when I had the chance but thought that tool too much money, at the time! Lessons and biology learned.

Ironically this isn't the photo I intended to use today. That one I accidentally deleted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.