Mandy's photo journal

By MandyO

Abandoned...

I'm enjoying the sunny days and the fact that I'm facing a week off work - so feeling chilled.
I had to abandon my car yesterday because it was locked up in the Cricket Club car park while we were walking round Bill's wood . It was a bit of a worry and I hoped we could get access this morning - which we did thank goodness!
So today I decided to find a new place to park near the walk and found the ideal spot down Sadlers Lane. We passed this fascinating abandoned house right in the middle of a row of perfectly respectable town houses.
There is something that draws me to an abandoned house. It might hark back to when we were kids and used to play in an old house near our home in Bracknell. We thought it was a mansion, and running and hiding in the rooms made me feel daring and adventurous.
Whenever I see an abandoned house I always wonder who lived there and what their lives were like - strangely something that I never do in an occupied house...

A house that lacks, seemingly, mistress and master,
With doors that none but the wind ever closes,
Its floor all littered with glass and with plaster;
It stands in a garden of old-fashioned roses.
~Robert Frost~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.