What a gift!

On January 22, I mentioned that a former student called me out of the blue. Joe mentioned that he had taken up quilting when he moved to Bella Bella. At first he did all the sewing by hand, but he started using a sewing machine after encouragement from his sister. I was gobsmacked when G came home with a parcel on Friday and this incredible piece of handiwork was inside, along with a book containing images of other quilts that Joe has made. In the introduction to the book, Joe writes:
Much of my inspiration came from living with the Heiltsuk. Those who have lived on the coast are aware of the abundance of wildlife – both on the land and in the ocean.
I became fascinated with whales, kelps, eagles and salmon. The past few years, I have evolved into creating ocean-themed quilts. There were evenings when there was the hum of the sewing machine, the TV on, music playing, and Romain strumming the guitar. Somehow it all worked, as chaotic as it may seem.

This book is dedicated to you, Romain Gauvin.
Romain was Joe’s partner, and sadly he passed away last year.
I can’t stop looking at this beautiful gift, the rich colours, the workmanship. It’s approximately 24”x28”, and I’m thinking of ways to display it. G may make a frame for it, or I might sew tabs at the top and hang it from a dowel. If any of you have experience with hanging a quilt, please let me know. Another treasure holding memories for us of the wonderful man who made it.

Joe belongs to the Haisla nation and is from Kitamaat. Interestingly, Kitamaat was the first town we lived in when we came to Canada.
The Heiltsuk are the people from Waglisla (Bella Bella). Joe teaches in the community school there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.