Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Ruddles

RIP
My boy.
Little man.
Rudds.

I met him in October 1999 when he was less than a week old.
He has been part of my life since the nineteenth of December 1999.
He slipped out last night, he went on a walk about aided by his early stages of dementia.
He found his way to the A19 and headed towards York. -we were in. Riccall-. About two miles down the road he crossed over and just near the new business park twix Escrick and Riccall he was hit by a car.
He was left for dead. ....
He was still breathing when I found him.
We took him to the local vet where he was helped out of his pain and --very sadly- our life.
I can't use the words I would like to write to describe the driver of the car that hit him and also all the drivers who saw him ambling down the road and didn't bother to stop and check him out.
Let's just leave it as disgusted!!
We have -over the years- picked up lost dogs and taken them to the safety of a local vet or police station so that they can be re-united with their owners.
The bare fact is ... It was his time.
We found him.
We said goodbye.
With the help of Facebook we had a group of people -mostly folk we don't know- out looking for our man. Huge thanks to all the Riccallites, you are stars.

Ian, my husband, Mr Chris and my nephew Howard walked the streets shining torches into every garden and Layla -my daughter- walked out down lonely tracks in search for him.

We did manage to eat our fabulous Moroccan supper at about midnight and I did manage to drink far too much wine ... I would not have slept otherwise!!

Yesterday morning none of us knew how the day would unfold... No one would have figured on digging in the dark. Thank you xxx

The panic and fear I felt last night was more than horrific.

My thoughts are with all those who are searching for missing family members.
By comparison our experience was minor but it was the worst thing to happen to us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.