keithyboy

By keithyboy

Road trippin'

This is the chariot, leant to me by my friend Mark, that made the journey to Mount Cook possible and more inportantly got me home on Monday morning after work.

My colleague who joined me on Monday morning, seemed concerned about the clutter in the car. Mark had warned me that he never cleans out his car, I didnt think too much about it, afterall, I never cleaned out my car at his age either. So after 2 black bin bags, one hour, some fabreeze and a rather fancy air freshener, we were ready to roll... to the petrol station. 42.15 litres of petrol squeezed into the 40 litre tank, all 4 tires pumped up and windscreen washer filled, I was ready to roll... home to bed for a nap before heading up the west coast on one of the summers hotest days. I couldnt have been more glad of a working air con unit... but there wasnt one, just a lot of noisy buttons. In the end, drivers arm was an issue because I didnt wear enough sunscreen to have my arm out the window for 3 hours. It was kinda nice to do things in an old skool fashion.

Back to the story, a big thank you to Mark for lending me the car, it was very kind and much appreciated. I hope the valet and quarter tank of fuel are adequate. We had a great day out, which is coming up in the next couple of posts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.