DaveWoolmer

By DaveWoolmer

Every cloud has a silver lining

At last, feeling back to (almost) full fitness today!!

Still off work though, but a pre-planned day off as I'd arranged for a company to come out and replace my lead water main (the joy of ex-LA houses). They were due to be on site for 8am, according to the confirmation email, so when no one had arrived by 9 25 I decided to call their office and was assured of a call back "shortly". I think my idea of shortly must vary from theirs, as I had to call them again at 10 50 and was again assured of a call back "in a couple of minutes". When they eventually conspired to bother calling back it was, unsurprisingly, bad news - they weren't coming out because of some other emergency job (which I don't personally believe even existed) and they hadn't called as no one had followed their usual procedure of "leaving a note out".

So I made it quite clear that they can lay their water main where the sun doesn't shine, and that they had wasted my day off when I could really have done with getting back to work to catch up with the backlog.

So where's the silver lining? I got to have lunch with my special lady, who I haven't seen since Monday evening. So all's well that ends well :)

Have a good weekend all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.