bridget riley's eyesight

By gail

Yikes

This is the Treetop Walkway at Kew Gardens. I didn't look up before I went up there and I'm really glad because being extremely prone to very bad vertigo I just decided enough was enough and went for it (egged on by my colleagues). All chuckables safely strapped down or stashed away (I get the type of vertigo that makes one irrationally want to throw things off high things), I stared straight ahead and started the climb.

Both hands on one bannister on the way up and both hands on one bannister on the way down, white knuckles clinging on for dear life all the way round the top, but very pleased with myself when I got to the final step.

I did notice a few branches whilst I was up there, and I think at one point I might have spotted Wembley Stadium through my screwed up eyes.

Next time I might look down. Or at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.