Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

As I was getting ready this morning to start my day, meet the world, head for school, spend time with students--I did what I always do. I grabbed Grammie Teele's oval mirror to see the back of my hair, to make sure it was presentable. As I stood there looking I realized all the angles I was seeing, but mostly the oval of Grammie's mirror.

Years ago the mirror's long handle busted off while inside my packed suitcase on a journey with me to somewhere. I was momentarily devastated and then decided I would use it without a handle. I've been looking into that oval mirror since I was a little girl spending days and nights at Grammie's home.

I always felt pretty sitting at Grammie's three mirrored vanity with all the hair brushes, dainty cologne bottles, combs, earrings, broaches, and bracelets and the green oval hand-held mirror. I was anything but pretty with buck-teeth, a pony-tail, cut-off Levi's cuffed above the knee. Grammie had silks and yarns, and hats, gloves, and gowns and shoes I loved to walk in.

This morning looking into that oval mirror--Grammie Teele's mirror--allowed me to see through the years to a time when make believe was real. As I looked, I thought maybe if I stood still enough, you and I both could see to that place of make believe.

On this Thursday evening, I'm so thankful for Grammie Teele. I can still hear her speaking my name in a combination of Illinois, Washington, and California accent -- "Care-lan" was her unique version of Carol Anne.

So there you have it.
I'm looking into the looking glass in Southern California.
Good night.
Rosie/Care-lan (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

P.S. After taking two shots, I realized that this dressing room had clothes hanging from the top of the closet door and looked a bit disheavaled with me standing there in my slippery, satin shirt that I wear every morning so I don't get hair all over me when I brush mine. I stopped clicking to clear the mess, but this shot provided the best view of Grammie's oval mirror. So Blip family, welcome to my messy room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.