An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Fuel Shortage!

Backblip

Had an enjoyable but stressful meet up for lunch with friends today.

Just got onto the A9 when there was a beeping noise from the car indicating the fuel tank was low. Pressed a magic button and it said it there was 68 miles left in the tank. Relax. More than enough to get me to and from my lunch venue.

Heading back from lunch, the weather was so lovely (blue skies and sunshine) I decided to come home via the scenic route. Couple of miles into that journey there was a beep again with the message on the dash board indicating that I’d gone from 55 miles left in the tank to -----. That was literally what it said ----

F*ck !!!!!

So there I am, on some Perthshire back road where you meet another car about once every three days and where phone signals come and go. I pulled over to check I had a signal. I did, so alerted David to my plight. Not much he could do from St Andrews but at least he knew that if he phoned me back in 20 minutes and I wasn’t answering, he had to do something!!

Honestly, that 20 minute drive home was horrendous. Red warning light flashing with the occasional beep! I kept thinking I could feel the car losing power and was convinced I would grind to a halt on the most awkward corner and have a tractor run over me!

Thankfully I made it home with David calling me back just as I made it into the driveway!

The sun was still shining and having forgotten to take my camera with me when I went out, my plan was to get into the garden for a blip of the snowdrops that have just poked their noses through the ground.

I was in the house for all of 5 minutes when it suddenly turned black outside and the blizzard hit! I have never seen such a quick change in weather! So, instead of snowdrops, you get a winter scene instead.

And I will NEVER leave the house again without checking my fuel gauge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.