What Eye Spy

By Snappybiatch

We all have scars....

... we all deal with them in our own way and we all have our own naked truth. Sharing our vulnerability is to express that ultimatey human trait - compassion.

This poem is dedicated to anyone who has a scar for whatever reason but is especially dedicated to Kangazu who is not only a beautiful person but a very brave lady. Thank you Peggy for gifting me your words for my poem.

THE NAKED TRUTH

My body is a network of scars
Most are kept hidden from view
Some are on the inside
They’re kept hidden too

I can handle having scars
But not the ones inside
You can’t ignore the wounds
Thoughtless words leave behind

The callus on the outside
Masks a deeper pain within
Scars and all their secrets
Memoirs etched upon my skin

Both eternally mark the soul
Pain fades but never goes
What’s the point of being hurt
If there’s nothing there to show

I wear them like a coat,
A badge of pain survived.

In blind corners of my mind
Unhealed wounds still hide...

Carole Bone

Scar Tissue

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.