Live, Laugh, Love & Yoga

By lynniecoady

Step back in time!!

I went on a field trip with Max's class today to Sam Houston Memorial Museum. Despite the freezing cold weather and most of it being outside, it was a fun history lesson for the kids.

Some of the highlights were the kitchen where a lovely cook showed the kids how they cooked in the 'olden days' over a coal fire. She made them all popcorn using pig fat, kids loved it....I passed!! I did learn a lot of uses for pig fat though!!

These two gentlemen pictured were also a favorite. They taught the kids how to survive in the wild, what foods to eat and the different weapons they had back then to hunt with. I believe this is a flintlock muzzleloader (if I was listening correctly but my ears were under a wooly hat) Anyway, every time this went off I about jumped out of my skin....BANG!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.