JensPiet

By JensPiet

Water of Leith Walk

This is the sunset over Leith.

It took me a few months to find a suitable running track in Edinburgh. The Water of Leith Walk is definitely one of the most enjoyable tracks in the city, mainly because there aren't many enjoyable running tracks except for maybe Arthur's Seat, but it takes me almost two miles of traffic and traffic lights to get there.

The path along the Water of Leith is comparably well runnable. It has a certain makeshift feel to it: Every now and then the path just ends on a road and you have to get through a few main streets until you're back down at the river. For Edinburgh standards though, its runners' heaven. It's a rather calm, tranquil, natural, beautiful path that leads you along the river right to the port of Leith.

Today was the first time I ran in daylight. It was very different from my night runs. When I usually go at 10pm or so, the path is deserted and has a rather spooky touch to it. In broad sunlight - and yes, we had that today -, there are senior couples walking hand in hand, loads of people with dogs and puppies (!), bikers, runners, ducks, swans. But to be fair, I saw a fox at night which I found pretty exciting too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.