TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

Sunrise over the Dune

Why all that fuzz with getting up early….and not stay that whole lazy morning under your warm blankets? Apart from the fact that She wouldn’t accept it - cause there are still so many big and small things to do - I can’t help it: awake and I stay up without moaning. I admit, it is has not always been so self evident, especially since I had no more working hours obligation to fullfill. But I’m so happy just not to feel any more that: “OMG, I need more sleep…”

I love to witness that new beginning of the day to come. If the weather is not too bad I have a curious desire to experience dawn and sunrise somewhere in the dunes, at the beach, the riverside, or high up in the forest. It has to do with the changing songs of birds, the few people moving outside. New chances are underway and yesterday’s success and failures have fallen back behind the night that passed.

So, it’s quite simple: this morning my day started just to fulfill this desire to participate in this magical “event” of seeing that golden red fireball rising slowly above the black silhouettes of buildings, trees and dunetops. I was cycling up and down to the seaside and did not want to miss this happening of the birth of this precious and unique day in my finite life. Again a cold wind was blowing, and I had to warm up my fingers in order to take pictures before and after my excercise at the seaside.

And there it happened, this deep breathgiving birth of the red-golden Buddha, this Fireball rising between the waving beachgrass on the dunes. You can see it in the picture, you may read it in my words. But when you kneel slightly and look around and above into the high sky, hear the surf waves thundering and splashing onto the coast, listen to the high pitched song of a few oystercatchers, maybe, the Fireball burns your brains out and a Divine Laughter starts its Humming into the whizzing of the cold wind flaws...And then suddenly you know: all Flesh is Beachgrass:That is You (“Tat twam asi”).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.