Tweedale

I'm sorry to keep blipping this shot of the hills....my excuse is that never having lived in a house with hills in sight I am constantly pleased to see them.

This is where I live, in Tweedale, and here's an occasion to introduce some war poetry from the Romantic era. The Napoleonic Wars were underway, and this - written in 1804 - was...

...A Song for the Tweedale Volunteers!

See, my countrie's banners fly!

Furie burns in evrie eye!

Why, my Jeanie, why that sigh?
    
Shall I shrink when danger's near?s

Tho' I tear me frae thy arms,

I'm na dead to beautie's charms;

'Tis to shield frae war's alarms,
    
A' that to my soul is dear!

You, my Peggie, blushin' flower,

Smilin' in the vernal hour!

Can I in a villain's power
   
 Thy unrifled blossom see?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.