BRIANW

By BRIANW

Street Photography Rights!

Day 44 of 365. I'm falling behind a bit behind with my blips but still continuing to take my shot everyday. Sometimes through a combination of tiredness and being incredibly busy I don't always have time to post on the day itself.
Today's shot is of a bag a friend gave me from the British Journal of Photography (great magazine, by the way, and always so beautifully printed even if I don't always like the photography itself!).
I think the bag does carry an important message, though - about the right to take photographs on the street. Once, while I was taking what I thought was an arty shot of a multi-story car park (!) I was stopped by a community police officer and asked why I was taking the photograph - with the distinct impression that he didn't approve, and yet everyone has the right to take photographs in the street, a law which some police officers seem unaware of.
I've also heard stories of the police being called due to photographers taking perfectly innocent pictures of The Shard or the Gherkin. It's a dangerous path we go down if we start to ban simple things like taking photographs of a building in clear public view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.