Dotspan

By Dotspan

"PUSSY WILLOW"

I've had enough of the snow blips and of the snow also . . .

We went to the store and because of the snow the flower market had an abundance of various Valentine red flowers. I spotted a large display of Pussy Willows branches - a sure sign of spring.

Pussy willows bring back so many childhood memories. I remember a a huge bush in our yard. I brought a large bunch of branches to school and my favorite teacher taught us this poem that I remember to this day. So naturally when I taught I'd bring branches into school. I had my children and grandchildren search for pussy willows and of course the poem became a spring ritual along with branches of pussy willows.

I was not happy with the pussy willows on display and didn't want to buy any. I had a difficult time trying to get a blip because of all the red and because of the lighting in the store. However I needed a blip -- it was an emergency.


I KNOW A LITTLE PUSSY
I know a little pussy
Her coat is silver gray
She lives down in the meadow
Not very far away.

Though she is a pussy
She’ll never be a cat.
She is a pussy willow.
Now what do you think of that!
Traditional

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.