Journey to Paradise

I've made it to Madeira, a true Paradise.

This is the photo from the window of the plane as we skimmed over the peninsula before landing at the airport.

Beautiful sunshine. Lots of clouds. Quite a bit of bumpy turbulence just before the view emerged.

I don't often blip plane photos (two in four years). I'm a bit of a wimp and always ask for an aisle seat (especially for the approach to Madeira). This morning, when we got to the gate, they gave me a new boarding card. I'd been upgraded! I wasn't about to argue. I love TAP.

The plane was so full and they asked if there was a doctor on board shortly after we left Heathrow. On arrival we all had to stay in our seats until the new medical team had sorted things. I hope the passenger is ok.

It seems calm but apparently they've closed the airport here because of the angle of the winds. Some of my friends haven't been able to get here yet as the planes have been diverted to Porto Santo or the Canaries. Goodness I was lucky. I hope they'll be safely here later. Dinner in the hotel is always a treat.

Meanwhile, it's well over 20 degrees.
I've had my first pastel de Nata of the week (with a refreshing local beer instead of my coffee)
I've swum in both of the outdoor pools.

Quite a day - and it's still only the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.