BrewPi - the results

So I went down to the brewshed just to check on how the kiwi pale ale the first beer fermented under BrewPi control was doing. It's warm conditioning just allowing the yeast to do a little bit of secondary fermentation before I fine it add some dry hops and drop the temperature . Normally at this stage only two days in the barrel a pale beer like this would be pretty cloudy. Quality control in the brewery is very important so I drew off a small sample which quickly became a larger sample as it's not 100% clear but it's clearer than some commercial beers I've had in the pub. Amazing without fining that would normally take at least a week possibly two.

I'm wondering if the slower lower temperature controlled fermentation caused better floculation. I also feel I got slightly better attenuation. It tastes nice and clean and I think given a day or so will probably clear without fining. It's a hard life in beer quality control...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.