JensPiet

By JensPiet

Why µFT wins

When I started taking photography a bit seriously, I got myself a Canon 450D. That was a cool camera, but the technology, especially in terms of low light and flash control, was about 5 years out of date. So I upgraded to a 650D 18 months ago.

When I first saw µFT come up, I couldn't really be bothered - smaller sensor equals less bokeh, no viewfinders, really small lens selection: didn't really float my boat. Well, then came the OM-D, a professional µFT camera with all the configurability and manualability that you could dream of, and even with a pretty cool EVF. I looked at it pretty arousedly for a few years. Then I got one cheap. And I got that weird body-cap lens and a 45mm f/1.8. And I was irrecovably gone.

Ever since, the 650D has been sitting around the house. Now I'm considering selling it. It is an amazing camera, a proper DSLR with a proper mirror and proper beefy feel and lenses, but that is also why I never want to carry it around if there's such a good pocketable alternative. Indeed, the OM-D easily fits in my pocket; and it delivers just as good quality shots, unless you count every last bokeh ball at ISO 6400. (I know that's not how it works, just take it as a metaphor!)

And that's the story of how µFT won me over.


(Yes, I am aware that this is not a technically fair comparison, and yes, the 15-85 USM and the 15mm f/8 are not nearly similar lenses, and yes, the 15mm f/8 is not even really a lens in a way, but they were very deliberately chosen for the sake of argument!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.