Gwen 2014

By gwenee18

End of mid-term

It was the boys last day of mid term today. Jacob had his friends 10 pin bowling party at lunchtime. After lunch the boys and their friends had booked the whole sports hall at the Community Centre for a game of 5 a-side and only 5 of them turned up. Kaleb then went swimming and then played badminton, the little two went back to Grandpas. I thought they'd be tired tonight, should've known better.

Logan had football training at Buckie tonight, it's always freezing up there and he's always starving when he gets home at 8pm. I decided I would make one of the boys favourites - homemade mince pie, mash tatties and skirlie. It was a complete nightmare. I bought a turnip at the butchers after work and think I must've left it on the counter in the shop because I had paid for it but it didn't make it home. I bought ready-rolled short crust pastry to save time, there wasn't enough so the pie was made with the thinnest pastry ever, (you can see patches and joins in the photo). I started making the skirlie and realised I didn't have enough pin-head oatmeal, so had to grind down the bigger oats I use for oatmeal cookies to match the consistency of the usual stuff. Finally, I forgot to buy more eggs so couldn't brush egg onto the pastry to make it nice and shiny when cooked. Anyway I got the ugly pie made eventually, and it tasted good but it was twice the work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.