LABEL MAKER

This is an example of an automatic machine dispensing metal alloy labels. They were often found on railway station platforms.

I remember using them as a child – put your money in the slot, use the big dial to choose each letter of the required label and then press the handle at the side to cut it – hey presto an embossed aluminium label. Why – no idea ? I guess you could say they were pre-dymosaurus !

Well it seems that, from memory, I spent lots of pocket money on add purchases. I used to help the owner of the local corner shop by re-filling his chewing gum machine on the wall outside. For this I was paid the grand sum of one penny. I then went to the shop next door to buy a small ice cream . . . a hot one or a cold one . . . Mr Thompson would say . . . together with a ball of rough string. Why ? Have no clue – except there was always string in the kitchen draw – just in case !

The British Automatic Company Limited, of London, was active between 1928 and 1956 as a manufacturer of coin operated automatic vending machines. These included weighing and amusement machines and embossing presses like this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.