Grasping at Threads...

…or: late afternoon blip. I did some mending on the sewing machine today. I don't know what came over me, but I fixed tears in a couple nightgowns, shortened a tablecloth that's been sitting there since two Christmases ago, darned a rip in a comforter cover, and fixed my grandson's oversized grey sweatshirt. They were all items that took up a lot of space on the table, so I feel that I've done something monumental.

If you can enlarge this photo, please notice the label on the wooden spool at the top left--Coats & Clark's 15¢. My guess it's from my mother's thread box, probably going back to at least 1950.


I've also been scanning some old negatives for a memorial for a family member who recently passed away. She was a woman about my age, and I didn't know her well, but looking at all those images of a young vibrant person left me feeling unsettled for the rest of the day. How young we all used to be, and radiant and just beginning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.