Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

A matter of life and death

For those who haven't seen the Powell and Pressburger film, I highly recommend it.

One of the central scenes in the film contains out hero (David Niven) ascending to heaven on a giant moving escalator. He tries to persuade Marius Goring that he should be returned to earth as it is not his time.

With Pete back at home and a week's work at the BBC booked in for next week I took some time out to visit the Richard Hamilton at Tate Modern. Well worth a visit (I shall return again), there were a lot of pieces I had forgotten he had made. Not only were they diverse in approach but he wasn't concerned about returning to the same subject and 'worrying away at it' (my words) until he was happy.

I don't like escalators. I suffer from vertigo, so it would be a descent into hell for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.