When The Morning Comes

This feel brighter- usually! Everybody seems happier today, with one of the two problems sort of solved.

I spent a long time this afternoon doing research on my mum's side of the family. Her history is really complicated, and we would like to tell my grandparents story. My mum has a couple of bags of letters between various family members, and there must be a couple of hundred there. Most of them are written on the blue AirMail paper, in beautiful, yet difficult to read, cursive writing. My mum always told us a lot of what she knew, but she admitted to not having ever read most of these letters. As I waded my way through, the tone of the letters changed, and I knew I'd found the 'jackpot'. A letter from my grandfather to my grandmother, sent from Los Angeles in 1963, was heartbreakingly sad. Actually had a lump in my throat as I read it. I think it upset my mum a little bit as she hadn't heard all these bits before.

Now comes the task of scanning the original letters and also typing them up on the computer. We've decided we need to do this and get them in date order so that we can begin to tell their story. I am so determined to see this project through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.