More Pensioner Tales

A few weeks ago young Joe, who I sit beside, winkled out of me (ha) that I had a boat. I showed him a snap and he declared it awesome. I asked him if he'd sailed and he said that he had - on the 'school boat' - and googling away, brought up a photo of an enormous wheelhouse ketch. You were at Gordonstoun, I observed. He was.
Anyway, this morning I received an email telling me that in my absence, one of my colleagues had 'vehemently' opposed a recommendation made earlier in the week. What does vehemently mean, asked young Joe. Aware that he does this fairly frequently, big A asked Joe what he'd learned at Gordonstoun. 'Same as anyone' he said, 'drinking in the woods'.
Isn't that shocking; there's his poor old mum scrimping and saving to try and give the lad a modest little bit of education and a start in life and those private school bastards have been trousering it. When they keep their trousers on, that is.
That Charles went there, didn't he. He's done quite well for himself mind. Married into money. Though I preferred his first bird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.