superrstine

By superrstine

Keeping the Moon

today I was inducted into Sigma Tau Delta, an English honor society and I had to read a passage that I liked. This was the passage:

"...but I remember lying there in my sleeping bag, looking up as the moon just disappeared. And even though I knew what it was, and I was so excited all day waiting for it to happen, I got really scared. Because it doesn't just come right back, you know? There's like this long time when it's just gone...
"But it's strange, when you've always been told something is true, like the moon will come back. You need proof. And while you wait, you feel the entire balance of your world just tipping. It's crazy. But when it's over, and it does come back, that's the best, because it's all you want, everything narrows to just that. It's this great rush, like for that one second everything's okay with the world again. It's amazing."
-Keeping the Moon, Sarah Dessen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.