Bumps in the Road

By JimJ

Cold Turkey

Having woken up at 7:30am, I brought the wee man into bed as normal. But today wasn't a normal day. With Mummy having flown to Australia to attend her cousin's wedding, the wee man and I were on own own. He looked a little confused when Mum wasn't in the bed, called out for her a few times and then snuggled up to me.

No Mummy means no milk. We had intended to slowly wean the little fella' off his Mummy's milk before she left but circumstance conspired against us and we're now going to do this 'cold turkey'.

When Mum didn't show up, he reluctantly tried the formulae milk. He wasn't impressed, so waited a little longer for Mum to return. When after 5 minutes she was still nowhere to be seen he tried again. He eventually managed to finish a bottle in between playing, reading and having fun on the bed.

After giving the wee man his breakfast and taking a quick shower, I realised it was time for Baby Signing, so off we toddled. I've been a couple of times now, and it's always a bit of a strange as I'm the only bloke there, and I tend to be a focal point for lots of the babies. It's always good fun though, and I'm always made to feel welcome. The wee man wasn't particularly interested in signing this week - he'd rather play with toys and stack rings on top of each other. Ah well, at least he got out to play.

We stopped off at the coffee shop on the way home, allowing Dad to recharge his batteries before attempting to get the wee man down for his midday nap.

In the afternoon we met up with my friend Jonathon at the Botanical Gardens. We wandered around for about an hour or so while the wee man giggled profusely as Jonathon's daughter ran and skipped about the paths (I think he had a crush on her).

By the time we returned home, the wee man was really starting to miss his mum. He called out for her as we walked through the door and continued to search all over the house. He settled after a while but never forgot, regularly calling out for her. I guess he had quite an eventful day so, because he was a bit grumpy, he ended up having an early dinner and bath, followed by another half bottle of formula and bed.

I've been really lucky so far. Everything has gone to plan but I've absolutely zero time to do anything for myself. I thought this staying at home lark was supposed to be easy ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.