Isabel

By Isabel

Memories...

Producing souvenirs is a major industry worldwide, and we are all prone to looking down our noses at our local "tourist tat". I wouldn't think of buying any of the tartan purses, fluffy Loch Ness monsters or kilted teddies so beloved by tourists at Glasgow airport. But I love acquiring "tasteful" souvenirs of my own adventures abroad...
The magic of a souvenir is the memories it brings back. Without that associated memory, most souvenirs are of little value. Often a distinctive stone or a pretty seashell picked off the beach can mean as much as an expensive shop bought item.
I bought this wood carving in a little craft market in South America some years ago. Focussing on it for the purpose of finding a Blip, took me back to that shady little garden in Margarita with its various stalls and the charismatic wood carver... Jesús... who sold it to me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.