Mercy Granted

The dad-like Thai man, who looks after many of the students and the building we work out of comes from the countryside. He has made our backyard area as much like the country as possible. He used to keep goats back there, but now we mostly only have ducks and chickens. Recently he strung a large net from two poles sticking up from the ground in an effort to catch birds to eat.

When my friend saw this dove caught in the net, she ran down from the sixth floor yelling out for me to grab my camera and follow. I did just that, expecting she had seen a large creature out in the back. We carefully but quickly stepped through the dried swamp ground until we got to the net. Only then did I see the bird that was fluttering around, getting itself more and more tangled.

My friend gently grabbed it and began trying to help. After a few pictures, I added two more hands to the work of untangling. Eventually we got the bird out and released it to fly away in the opposite direction. Dad probably wouldn't be to happy if he found out that we helped his dinner fly away, but oh well. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.