Satisfaction

You are looking at a very happy man. To be honest, I had given up on my 4 hours 30 minutes target believing it to be unrealistic. There was only one clock along the route and I made a point of not looking at my watch because if I see my time is behind it tends to sap my motivation. Instead, I decided just to believe that I was doing really well and give it my all. Imagine my delight then when I reached the finish line and say the clock; 4 hours and 44 minutes! I knew that there would need to be about fifteen minutes shaved off of that because I didn't reach the start line, due to the crowd of runners, until about fifteen minutes after the marathon started. Sure enough, when my certificate was printed the adjusted time was 4 hours 31 minutes and 9 seconds. Next time I will smash that 4 hours 30 minutes goal!

I've seen some great costumes at marathons before but I think this one has to take the biscuit for sheer audacity. This was on the outward journey and this was on the return leg. Perhaps I should advise that those of a nervous disposition might consider twice before clicking on these links.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.